Tech Trained Monkey

Everyday Problem Solvers

Logging and software development maturity

According to Wikipedia maturity is:

a psychological term used to indicate how a person responds to the circumstances or environment in an appropriate manner. This response is generally learned rather than instinctive, and is not determined by one’s age.

It is a widely know and accepted fact that write logs is a very good thing, since it helps you find out what happened at a given moment of time. It is rule number one on the universal developer book, if it existed… But again and again I find a lot of programs that just don’t do it.

I’m used to clients calling and say that something is not correct with the product, but it makes me cry when I ask for the logs and he says that there are none and I want to kill the dev who didn’t write log. I always find the bastard. If by any chance it is not a intern, oh help me lord, some blood will be shed!

Logging came to me as a very instinctive thing. My firsts programs didn’t write any log, but of course, I was the only one using them. But as I got better and better i felt the need to better control my “world”. I was scared of the fact that a problem would occur and I wouldn’t be able to know about it. In order to really evolve and grow as developer one needs to make more complex and bigger programs and, more importantly, learn from ones own mistakes. Logging is perfect for the learning part, because you don’t need to bother the users with questions and other stuff (if you logged all the information you needed).

One might start to wonder what does it have to do with maturity. Just logging is not enough. Logging for the sake of it does not help. You need to have a consistent, useful, categorized and, most of all (I think), easy to track log message. It takes real-maturity to know how to log. You should log everything that happens but each event must be logged in a particular way. Logging user interactions that same way you log Null Reference Exceptions is not very helpful. Remember that logging provides information and information is gold!

A lot of people do write a bunch of logs. They actually log the entire thing. Take World of Warcraft for example: Everything you do in the entire game can be traced! They can trace every little critter that you killed. They know which weapon you used. They log everything! But, as i said before, just write messages is not enough. You have to write them in a understandable, easy-to-track way. If a developer in your team can’t trace back, for example, the users actions, such as buttons clicked, radio button choices, in-screen info, check-boxes selected, etc, your log is not good. It might help you find and solve a problem, but it could do a lot better. I recently learned a important lesson.

I must say that I have never had a problem with production environment software (Yes, my programs bugs, but always very soon after deploy, so I was always very close by to help). Thank god all programs that I wrote never gave me serious headaches. Until a couple weeks back. Deploy went fine and everything was peachy. So one beautiful morning the client called me and reported a issue. As always I asked for the logs, he sent me and then the my world felt apart. I could not trace what was going on. Everything was there, but i could not set a time-line to the events. Due to multiple front-ends and multiple web services servers it was very, VERY hard to track what happened to a user. I had a special hard time figuring out what messages on the web services logs belonged to whom. It was a nightmare. I wanted to cry. But I managed to do it and I matured a bit… no, I matured a byte… sorry for the pun…

So now I’m developing a new logging lib and a log-reader tool (feel free to “borrow”) that is planned to solve the multi user/thread/server scenarios. The current log lib we use today is perfect to developer and single-user/thread/server scenarios. You can easily “follow” up what and when it happened, what came after what and so on. But when multi-thread/multi-users/async-operations come-out to play things get ugly. Since the current lib only logs the time and severity of the event its very hard to track continuous actions of a user, or even the path of a particular thread.

The lib itself is not enough though. The real magic is the log reader. The reader creates a visual path of the massages. It literally creates a “fork” for multithread visually showing parallel operations and stuff! Its getting very cool when its ready ill post the source code… but now back to maturity…

I must disclose that I’m not the most seasoned developer out there… for christ sake I’m only 24, but this much I can say: Write easy to read and understand log messages. Your kids will be thankful! Ok maybe not, but you will when you need to know whats really going on!

Leave a Reply

