Tech Trained Monkey

Everyday Problem Solvers

Agressive thinking

I base all work I do on 3 quotes:

it’s really hard to design products by focus groups. A lot of times, people don’t know what they want until you show it to them.Steve Jobs

If I’d asked my customers what they wanted, they’d have said a faster horse.Henry Ford

If you talk to God, you’re religious. If God talks to you, you’re psychoticGregory House

Whenever I present them on there’s always a *GASP!* and a little flame wars start. Whenever I meet a client I assume that he’s an idiot and don’t know what he wants… he has a clue about it, but that’s it, a clue. People that don’t know what they want is the most common type of people on earth (and you know you agree with me on this one), so just because these people became executives/consumers they suddenly just “know”?!? Sorry, if God talked to you, you’re psychotic…

Agile people and sales guys (people who focus on sales and profiting… Admit it, in the end it’s all you care about…) always try to hang me. On the other side of the fence, products guys (people who focus on making perfect products) give me a standing ovation. Steve Jobs knew that people very often don’t even know what they need. He knew that most people are unable to tell that what they are doing is “stupid” until someone else comes and show them a better way to do it, or that it doesnt need to be done at all (sometimes this guy is called crazy, irrational, idiotic and often burned in a pillar of fire). In simple words: if the iPhone have not been invented, today, april 4 2012, we would be using blackberries with uncomfortable, tiny-lettered keyboards and so on… I even dare say that you would still be hanging out with one of these:

MP3 player 2007Mp3 CD Player Philips

The world is not perfect… 90% of the time I can’t talk to the end-user of my solutions… I develop customizations for portals e Project Management Solutions… I always get requirements from a (the clients) Project Manager or a coordinator or something like that… In a good world the client would call me and say like “Hey Leo, come over here, I think my people can do better and I want to find out what we can improve”… Real consulting! In a perfect one my boss would walk to me and “pro-activally” say that we are going to build a revolutionary project management tool, not because someone said so, but because (he’s an ex project manager) he notice that the field is ruled by complex and ugly tools that are not use friendly. Work, most of the time, come to me as an order: “The client wants this, implement it”. Classical.

When I get a “develop me a W that does X and Y” request I always think what motivated the client to think that he need W developed and design, in the end, this “solution”. I know that understanding the disease is more important and effective than treating symptoms. X and Y are usually a way to patch symptoms. Example: “Oh my department is not producing as it should because people are not communicating well! I want you to develop me an online msn like Conference/Chat app so people can communicate better!” Maybe… just maybe… the reason why people are not communicating is not because they can’t get in touch with each other… Maybe you hired lone wolf’s that can’t work in teams… Maybe they are producing as they should and just not as you expected…

To assume that your client is a very smart guy, that he knows about what he’s been talking, that he thought the scenario through, that he’s planning for the future, that he’s attacking the disease and that he’s using the right tools to do it,  is a very risky assumption. Yes, you can be right… I rather do the other way around and eventually be surprise by brightness then by stupidity…

3 responses to “Agressive thinking

  1. Vitamin D April 11, 2012 at 5:03 pm

    Very interesting information!Perfect just what I was searching for!

  2. Anônimo April 13, 2012 at 2:57 pm

    Leo, sorry for the bad news… you’r in the wrong job, doind the wrong work.
    If your client buy your company solution, you dont have the chance to change the way he thinks. The client spent a lot of money on the solution (EPM) and now he knows exaclty what he wants that is: make EPM work with all the other tools that i already have on my company, simple.

    This 3 quotes will only work in revolutionary projects, so my advice for you. Get some balls!
    If this quotes are real for you, quite your job, find a nice startup (or create one) and go live happy!

  3. Luigi Fulk April 16, 2012 at 7:24 pm

    Hello i am so delighted I discovered your web site, I actually discovered you by error, while I was searching Yahoo for somewhat else, Anyways I am at this point now as well as would simply resembling to exclaim thanks for a excellent website posting plus a all round absorbing web publication (I additionally love the theme/design), I do not have time to study it all at the right now but I have bookmarked it and in addition added your RSS feeds, so when I have time I will be back to examine further..

Leave a Reply

